New officers, directors elected at annual meeting


Members elected new officers and directors to the NCPA/NCPS board during the association's annual meeting March 10. Terms for the new officers and directors begin August 1, 2017, and include:

  • Tim Holt, The Daily Reflector, Greenville, as NCPA/NCPS president;
  • Ashley Vansant, The Washington Daily News, as NCPA/NCPS vice president;
  • Gene Fowler, Watagua Democrat, Boone, for a three-year term as director;
  • Kyle Stephens, The Times Leader, Grifton, for a three-year tern as director;
  • Sandra Hurley, Civitas Media, Davidson, for a three-year term as director; and
  • Rachel Hoskins, The Franklin Press, Franklin, for a one-year term as director. Hoskins is also a past president of the association.

Jackie Torok, The Brunswick Beacon, Shallotte, was elected in-coming president of the NC Association of Community Newspapers. The Associated Dailies elected John McClure, High Point Enterprise, to lead their efforts in the coming year. Both presidents will have seats on the NCPA/NCPS Board.

Current president Tammy Dunn, The Montgomery Herald, Troy, will move to the role of immediate past president, and NCPA Secretary/Treasurer Eric Millsaps, The Statesville Record & Landmark, will transition to the same role for NCPS. Directors will elect a new NCPA Secretary/Treasurer from among themselves.

Directors who will continue service on their board include: Corey Friedman, The Wilson Times; Bill Moss, Hendersonville Lightning; Mike Distelhorst, GateHouse Media group publisr for Eastern NC; Kevin Kampman, The Winston-Salem Journal; and Jim Puryear, News & Observer, Raleigh.

Cycling off the board in August will be immediate past president Pat Taylor, The Pilot, Southern Pines, along with directors Bart Adams, The Daily Record, Dunn, and Todd Allen, The Wake Weeklhery, Wake Forest.